‘Little Shop of Horrors’ to hit the MHS stage

The cast and crew from “Little Shop of Horrors” includes, first row from left: Skyler Postel, Kiley Wall, Kacie Bayne, Kendra Foust, Abby Willson, Hannah Ahlrichs and Noah Arduser. Second row: Cassie Gillmore, Jordyn Patterson, Autry Fasnacht, Andrew Wall, Payton Jaeger, Ben Oswald, Presley Tapken, Levi Temple, Jeff Carlson, Chase Sternhagen, Lindsay Adams, Caroline Olson, Haley Shady and Grace Heinrich. Third row: Mason Reuter, Rachel Larabee, Anna Loes, Brianna Burmahl, Madelyn Barkema, Savannah Reyhons, Justin Martin, Hayo Eiben, Jordan Lorenzen, Sophia Ahlrichs, Rylee McBride, Robby Holmes, Adele Hogan, Hope Vorbeck and Grahm Schneiter. Fourth row: Juan Perez, Christian Nieto, Dane Thomas, Olivia Goodyear, Makayla Coffey, Courtney Campbell, Rachel Nelson, Nicole Porter, Rylee Bauer, Luke Weber, Marisa Braford, Evee Krouse, Jackson DeMean, Kacie Rickels, Megan Mahoney, Delaney Peitz and Spencer Avery. Not pictured are Matthew Fokken, Micah Williams, Caleb Gillmore, Reggie Welter, Brooklyn Stark, Ella Borge, Hayley Manternach, Maci Fortman, Natalie First and Emalee Manternach.

The centerpiece of “Little Shop of Horrors,” to be presented by the Monticello High School Theatre Department Nov 2-4, is Audrey II, the man-eating plant that keeps growing. Robby Holmes provides the voice for the plant, while Rachel Larabee is the puppeteer inside. (Photos by Pete Temple)

Jeff Carlson (right), playing the role of Orin Scrivello, sings as chorus girls (from left) Anna Loes, Kiley Wall and Courtney Campbell look on in a scene from “Little Shop of Horrors.”

Seymour Krelborn (Ben Oswald, seated) is overwhelmed with contract offers during “Little Shop of Horrors.” Standing from left are Skyler Postel, Autry Fasnacht and Payton Jaeger.

Levi Temple (left) plays Mr. Mushnik, and Ben Oswald plays Seymour Krelborn.
Staff report

     The Monticello High School Theatre Department will present the musical “Little Shop of Horrors” Thursday through Saturday, Nov. 2-4 in the MHS Auditorium.

     Times are 7 p.m. for the Thursday and Friday performances, and 2 p.m. for Saturday.

     The meek floral assistant Seymour Krelborn stumbles across a new breed of plant he names “Audrey II,” after his coworker crush. This foul-mouthed, R&B-singing carnivore promises unending fame and fortune to the down-and-out Krelborn as long as he keeps feeding it ­– blood.

     Over time, though, Audrey II grows to astounding proportions (its final size is one of the musical’s highlights), and Seymour discovers the plant’s out-of-this-world origins and intent toward global domination.

     Admission is $5 for adults, $4 for students and senior citizens.



(listed alphabetically by performer’s last name)

Marisa Braford, Courtney Campbell, Makayla Coffey, Olivia Goodyear, Anna Loes, Kiley Wall – Chorus Girls

Jeff Carlson – Orin Scrivello, DDS

Autry Fasnacht – Bernstein

Matthew Fokken – Voice Something Like God’s

Robby Holmes – Voice of Audrey II

Payton Jaeger – Skip Snip

Rachel Larabee and Jordan Lorenzen – Puppeteers of Audrey II

Justin Martin – Customer #2

Ben Oswald – Seymour Krelborn

Skyler Postel – Patricia (Patrick) Martin

Chase Sternhagen – Customer #1

Presley Tapken – Audrey

Levi Temple – Mr. Mushnik

Luke Weber – Wino #1

Andrew Wall – Wino #2

Micah Williams – Mrs. Luce



     Advertising/Publicity – Kacie Bayne, Jackson DeMean, Jordyn Patterson.

     Backstage/Set/Paint – Hannah Ahlrichs, Sophia Ahlrichs, Noah Arduser, Spencer Avery, Rylee Bauer, Hayo Eiben, Adele Hogan, Evee Krouse, Rachel Larabee, Jordan Lorenzen, Megan Mahoney, Emalee Manternach, Rylee McBride, Christian Nieto, Caroline Olson, Juan Perez, Nicole Porter, Haley Shady, Dane Thomas.

     Costumes/Makeup – Ella Borge, Maci Fortman, Hayley Manternach, Savannah Reyhons, Brooklyn Stark, Hope Vorbeck.

     Lights/Sound – Lindsay Adams, Caleb Gillmore, Mason Reuter, Grahm Schneiter, Reggie Welter, Abby Willson.

     Props – Madelyn Barkema, Brianna Burmahl, Natalie First, Kendra Foust, Rachel Nelson, Delaney Peitz, Kacie Rickels.


Subscriber Login