Prairie Hill

     After carving and decorating pumpkins, the October Meeting of the Prairie Hill 4-H Club was held on Monday, Oct. 19, 2020 at the Citizens State Bank Youth Development Center.

     The meeting was called to order at 6:17 p.m. by Lauren Koehler, President. The pledge to the American Flag was led by Claire Hogan. Roll call of “What is your favorite spooky or scary character?” was answered by members present.

     The Secretary’s Report was read by Vice President Leah Koehler. Claire Hogan made a motion to approve the minutes. Kylee McElmeel seconded the motion. Motion carried.

     There was no Treasurer’s Report. Roth Schnoor made a motion to approve a $75.00 bill for pumpkins to Nicole Moestchen. Miranda Rieken seconded the motion. Motion carried. Members Adele Hogan and Lauren Koehler were recognized for being selected for Jones County 4-H Council for the coming year.

     The 4-H Online 2.0 system was discussed. Registrations for re-enrolling members are due by Dec. 1 at 4 p.m. in order to show at the Great Jones County Fair. First-year members have until May 15 to enroll.

     The 4-H Awards Day will be held on Sunday, Nov, 22, virtually. The 2020-21 Prairie Hill 4-H Club Bylaws were reviewed and discussed. The Jones County Cattlemen are offering three bred heifers to a qualifying individual. Members were directed to the Jones County Extension website forapplications if interested. Deadline is Nov. 1.

     New Officers for the 2020-21 4-H Year were installed:

     President: Lake Schnoor

     Vice President: Taylor Gassman

     Secretary: Leah Koehler

     Treasurer: Lauren Koehler

     Reporter: Adele Hogan

     Historian: Lily Moestchen

     Photographer: Miranda Rieken

     Members were asked to bring a nonperishable food item or personal hygiene item to donate to the Monticello Food Pantry to the November Meeting. No presentations were given.

     The next meeting of Prairie Hill 4-H club will be held on Monday, Nov. 16 at 6:15 p.m. at the Expo Hall. A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Drew Ricklefs and seconded by Dawson Ricklefs. The meeting concluded with the Pledge to the 4-H Flag, led by Lincoln Schneiter.

–  Adele Hogan, Reporter




Subscriber Login