Competitive Panthers finish season with awards

The Monticello softball team held its annual awards event July 14 in the Monticello High School commons. Earning team awards, first row from left: Keziah McQuillen and Madilynn Kromminga. Second row: Katie Roher, Mallory Steiner, Jaelyn Aitchison, Piper Hansen and Kendra Mescher.

All-conference players, from left: Katie Roher, Jaelyn Aitchison, Keziah McQuillen and Mallory Steiner. (Photos by Pete Temple)

   The Monticello High School softball team held its annual awards night July 14 in the MHS Commons.

   The Panthers finished the season with a record of 9-19, but nine of the losses were by a single run.

   “We were so competitive,” coach Bret McDonald said. “There were three times where we really got beat. Otherwise we were right there.  That truly shows how hard the girls worked and how determined they were. They have nothing to hang their heads about.”

   A list of the team awards follows.





     North Division team: Jaelyn Aitchison, junior; Katie Roher, junior; Keziah McQuillen, sophomore.

     Honorable Mention: Mallory Steiner, senior.


     Most Valuable: Jaelyn Aitchison, junior.

     Most Improved: Katie Roher, junior.

     Best Offensive Player: Mallory Steiner, senior.

     Best Defensive Player: Keziah McQuillen, sophomore.

     Hustle Award: Kendra Mescher, sophomore.

     Rookie of the Year: Madilynn Kromminga, freshman.

     Panther Pride Award: Piper Hansen, senior.


     Most Improved: Natalie Henderson, freshman.

     Best Offensive Player: Lauren Verhagen, sophomore.

     Best Defensive Player: Jayden Kuper, freshman.

     Co-Hustle Award: Kinzi Schlarmann, sophomore; Madilynn Kromminga, freshman.

     Panther Pride Award: Haili Schlarmann, freshman.


     Most Improved: Annie Schlarmann, freshman.

     Best Offensive Player: Karli Manternach, freshman.

     Best Defensive Player: Kennedy Hermsen, eighth-grader.

     Panther Pride Award: Grace Cooksley, junior.


     Senior: Piper Hansen.

     Juniors: Jaelynn Aitchison, Katie Roher, Brea Stahlberg.

     Sophomores: Gabi Barnhart, Jordan Fangmann, Sami McElmeel, Keziah McQuillen, Kendra Mescher, Kinzi Schlarmann, Lauren Verhagen.

     Freshman: Madilynn Kromminga.

     Golden Glove Award (fielding percentage of .950 or greater): Mallory Steiner, senior; Katie Roher, junior; Brea Stahlberg, junior; Keziah McQuillen, sophomore.

     Silver Slugger Award (batting average of .300 or greater): Jaelyn Aitchison, junior; Katie Roher, junior.


Subscriber Login