Despite delay, Panthers celebrate State season

The Monticello High School boys basketball team held its awards night Aug. 11 in the MHS Commons. All-Conference players, from left: Tate Petersen, Ty Kehoe, Justin Recker, Connor Lambert, Luke Lambert and Devin Kraus. (Photos courtesy of Curt Tauke)

Earning team awards, from left: Justin Recker, Ty Kehoe, Tyler Luensman, Jeff Carlson and Luke Lambert.

     A season that featured Monticello’s first State Boys Basketball Tournament appearance in 60 years was celebrated at the Panthers’ annual awards event Aug. 11 in the MHS Commons.

     The Panthers finished 21-3 under head coach Tim Lambert, including a 17-1 record in River Valley Conference play, which earned them a share of the North Division championship.

     Monticello earned a trip to State with a one-point substate victory over Dyersville Beckman. The Panthers lost a state quarterfinal game to Camanche at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

     The awards night was delayed several months due to restrictions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

     A list of Panther awards follows.




All-State Awards

     Iowa Print Sports Writers Association: Justin Recker, junior, Second Team.

     Iowa Preps: Justin Recker, Class 2A and Junior Teams. Luke Lambert, Junior Team. Tate Petersen, Freshman Team.

     Prep Hoops: Justin Recker, Class 2A Team. Tate Petersen, Class 2A Team.

Substate Awards

     Iowa Basketball Coaches Association: Luke Lambert, Justin Recker.

River Valley


     Elite Team: Luke Lambert, junior; Justin Recker, junior.

     North Division Team: Ty Kehoe, junior; Connor Lambert, junior; Tate Petersen, freshman.

     Honorable Mention: Devin Kraus, senior.

Team Awards

     Most Valuable Player: Justin Recker, junior.

     Most Improved: Ty Kehoe, junior.

     Best Defensive Player: Luke Lambert, junior.

     Craig Welter Leadership Award: Jeff Carlson, senior.

     Captains’ Awards: Jeff Carlson, senior; Luke Lambert, junior; Tyler Luensman, junior; Justin Recker, junior.

     Seniors’ Awards: Jeff Carlson, Cade Folken, Devin Kraus, Ethan Martensen.



     Seniors: Jeff Carlson, Cade Folken, Devin Kraus.

     Juniors: Brady Cleeton, Ty Kehoe, Luke Lambert, Tyler Luensman, Riley Manternach, Justin Recker, Grahm Schneiter.

     Freshman: Tate Petersen.




Subscriber Login