District title season recognized

The Monticello High School football team held its annual awards event Nov. 15 in the MHS Commons. Earning All-District awards, first row from left: Caden Sternhagen, Conner Jordan, Zach Yates and Easton Prull. Second row: Christian Castillo, Adrian Graves, Dylan Roher, Gage Guilford, Dylan Monk, Gavin Fuhrmeister, Connor Sauser, Tate Petersen, Preston Ries and Peyton Schilling. (Photos by Pete Temple)

Voted for team awards, from left: Tate Petersen, Christian Castillo, Dylan Monk, Conner Jordan, Bryce Cleeton and Preston Ries.

   Monticello’s football team celebrated a district championship season and other achievements during its annual awards night Nov. 15 in the Monticello High School Commons.

   The Panthers went 7-3 this past season, winning Class 2A, District 5 with a perfect 5-0 record. Monticello went on to win a state playoff first round game over Central Lee before losing a heartbreaker to Centerville in the round of 16.

   “We made it to the round of 16 four years in a row,” head coach Wes Wilson told the audience. “The playoffs are not a goal; they’re an expectation. That’s what these guys have brought this program to.”

   The team set numerous school records; two of the biggest were averaging 41 points and 501 yards per game.

   A list of awards that were presented follows.





     Offensive MVP: Preston Ries, junior.

     Kicker of the Year: Christian Castillo, senior.

     First Team: Gavin Fuhrmeister, senior; Gage Guilford, senior; Tate Petersen, senior; Dylan Roher, senior; Connor Sauser, senior; Adrian Graves, junior; Dylan Monk, junior; Peyton Schilling, junior.

     Second team: Caden Sternhagen, senior; Conner Jordan, junior.

     Honorable mention: Easton Prull, junior; Zach Yates, junior.

Team awards

     Offensive MVP: Tate Petersen, senior.

     Defensive MVP: Preston Ries, junior.

     Lineman of the Year: Dylan Monk, junior.

     Special Teams MVP: Christian Castillo, senior.

     Newcomer of the Year: Conner Jordan, junior.

     Scout Team Award: Sawyer Brokaw, junior.

     Coaches’ Award: Bryce Cleeton, senior; Tate Petersen, senior.

Academic All-District

     Seniors: Deacon Besler, Tate Petersen, Dylan Roher.

     Juniors: Sawyer Brokaw, Carson Cox, Conner Jordan, Jonah Luensman, Dylan Monk, A.J. Phelps, Easton Prull;  Preston Ries, Zach Yates.

Academic All-State

(GPA 3.0-3.24)

     Seniors: Gage Guilford, Kyler Husmann, Connor Sauser.

Academic All-State

(GPA 3.25-4.0)

     Seniors: Deacon Besler, Gavin Fuhrmeister, Tate Petersen, Dylan Roher.

     Juniors: Sawyer Brokaw, Carson Cox, Conner Jordan, Jonah Luensman, Dylan Monk, A.J. Phelps, Ethan Ponder, Easton Prull, Preston Ries, Cael Sampson, Zach Yates.




Subscriber Login