Division title season is celebrated

The Monticello High School volleyball team held its annual awards event Nov. 5 in the MHS Commons. Earning River Valley All-Conference awards, from left: DeLainy Fellinger, Bronwyn Hodge, Beka Prull, Tori McDonald and Emma Hynick. (Photos by Pete Temple)

Earning team awards, from left: Madison Butterworth, Beka Prull, Tori McDonald, Emma Hynick, DeLainy Fellinger and Keziah McQuillen.
Pete Temple
Express Sports Editor

     A season that included winning records across the board, including a division championship, was celebrated by the Monticello High School volleyball team at its annual awards event Nov. 5 in the MHS Commons.

     The Panthers won the River Valley Conference, North Division championship with a 6-0 record, went 7-2 against all RVC foes, and were 15-10 overall.

     Mostly, with COVID-19 more of a factor than ever in the state of Iowa, the Panthers were happy they got to play at all.

     “We were just blessed to have a season,” Monticello coach Stacie Breitbach said.

     The Panthers’ two conference losses were against Wilton, which reached the state semifinals; and West Liberty, which won the River Valley Conference Tournament.

     Monticello also had three narrow, fifth-set wins, over Bellevue, Cascade and Anamosa as part of their division title run.

     “Some great things happened during the season,” Breitbach said. “I was super proud of the girls for setting a goal and sticking to it.

     “Some of the things I love most about this season were the hard work, and playing as a team. Everybody knew they had a role to play, and they trusted one another.”

     A list of season awards follows.


Monticello Volleyball

Awards 2020


     Elite Team: Tori McDonald, senior.

     North Division Team: DeLainy Fellinger, senior (voted top libero of the division); Beka Prull, senior; Bronwyn Hodge, junior.

     Honorable Mention: Emma Hynick, junior.

     North Division Coach of the Year: Stacie Breitbach.  


     Most Valuable Player: Tori McDonald, senior.

     Most Improved Player: Keziah McQuillen, freshman.

     Best Offensive Player: Beka Prull, senior.

     Best Defensive Player: DeLainy Fellinger, senior.

     Panther Pride Award: Madison Butterworth, sophomore.

ACADEMIC ALL-STATE  9seniors, 3.85 or higher)

     Allison Barnhart, senior; Aubree Fairley, senior.


ALL-CONFERENCE  3.5 or higher

     Seniors: Allison Barnhart, Aubree Fairley, DeLainy Fellinger, Tori McDonald, Beka Prull.

     Juniors: Piper Hansen, Bronwyn Hodge.

     Sophomores: Jaelyn Aitchison, Madison Butterworth, Emma Sperfslage.


     Most Valuable Player: Lacie Koppes, freshman.

     Most Improved Player: Kendra Mescher, freshman.

     Best Offensive Player: Piper Hansen, junior.

     Best Defensive Player: Jaelyn Aitchison, sophomore.



Subscriber Login