Iowa High School Graduates Are Bright Scholars of Iowa.

     Fifty-two Iowa High school graduates have completed their first semester of college after being named recipients of the Bright Scholars of Iowa Award, a distinction that includes a four-year, full-ride academic scholarship. The scholarships are funded by the Bright Foundation of Des Moines for worthy Iowa high school graduates attending Iowa State University, University of Iowa, University of Northern Iowa, Indian Hills Community College and Southwestern Community College.

     To be eligible for a Bright Scholars of Iowa Award, a student must be accepted by one of the universities or community colleges mentioned above. Among specific academic and financial criteria, preference is given to students whose parents have not graduated from an accredited four-year college or university. The award is renewable for up to three additional years, providing the student maintains a 2.50 cumulative GPA. As a part of the application process, the student must submit an essay describing his or her success in the face of adversity. A summary of high school and community service activities, including leadership roles, is also required.

     Natalie Neuzil of Hopkinton, attending University of Northern Iowa, was one of the 52 students to receive the Bright Scholars of Iowa Award.


Subscriber Login