IPSWA selects four Panthers as All-Staters

Tyler Luensman, first team defensive back.

Caleb Sauser, second team kick returner.

Luke Lambert, third team quarterback.

Owen Thomas, third team offensive lineman.

     Four Monticello Panthers made the All-State football teams selected by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) during its annual All-State meeting Sunday, Nov. 22, via Zoom.

     The team, voted upon by sportswriters and coaches from across the state, includes first, second and third teams, as well as an overall captain, for each class.

     For Monticello, the following players were selected:

     Tyler Luensman, senior, first team defensive back. Luensman, who made the IPSWA third team a year ago, had two interceptions, 3.5 tackles-for-loss, and 50.5 total tackles this past season. He also was the team’s leading receiver with 46 catches for 805 yards, and had six receiving touchdowns.

     Caleb Sauser, junior, second team kick returner. Sauser was the state Class 2A leader in kickoff return yardage with 612 yards, two of those went for touchdowns, including a 73-yard return for a score in a second-round playoff win over Crestwood, which proved to be the winning points. Sauser also had a 78-yard kickoff return for a score.

     Luke Lambert, senior, third team quarterback. Only three total quarterbacks from the 64 teams in Class 2A get selected, and Lambert was one of them, after a season in which he completed 121 of 181 passes (66.9 percent) for 1,801 yards and 17 touchdowns. His passing yards total was second in all of 2A, his quarterback rating of 150.5 also was second, and his all-purpose yard total of 2,257 was fourth.

     Owen Thomas, junior, third team offensive lineman. Thomas made the Panthers’ starting lineup, and the 6-foot-3, 290-pound junior helped lead the Panthers to 1,223 rushing yards, averaging 5.1 yards per running play.

     The Panthers finished the season with a record of 6-3 under head coach Wes Wilson, including a 2-1 record in the post-season, losing only to eventual state 2A champion Waukon.

     Brayden Evertson of 
West Marshall, who led 2A in sacks, tackles-for-loss and punt return yardage, was named the Class 2A captain.



Subscriber Login