Jones County Teen Council to receive I-CASH funding

     The Jones County 4-H Teen Council will receive funding from Iowa’s Center for Agricultural Safety and Health (I-CASH) for a farm safety project. Since 1999, I-CASH has designated funds for Iowa youth groups to promote farm safety awareness in their local communities. The grants are awarded to the proposals that show the highest involvement by youth in the planning and carrying out of the project.

     According to I-CASH director Brandi Janssen, this year was especially competitive.

     “We were pleased to have nineteen applicants, it’s exciting to have such interest in the grants,” Janssen said. “I just wish we could fund more projects.”

     The Jones County Teen Council was one of 10 groups that received $500 to carry out its project. Several of the projects are Farm Safety Days that will teach elementary students about electrical hazards, livestock safety, chemical safety, ATVs, and other topics related to rural safety and health. The Teen Council will be creating safety signs to post around the fairgrounds about different livestock breeds as well as general farm safety, as well as a scavenger hunt for youth to participate in during the Great Jones County Fair. Youth groups ranging from 4-H to FFA to County Farm Bureau groups were represented.

     At the end of the season, grant applicants will submit a final evaluation that will again be judged by the grant selection committee. One group will be awarded the “Outstanding Youth Grant Award,” which carries another $500 in funding and a trip to the Midwest Rural and Agricultural Safety and Health Conference (MRASH), which will be held in Council Bluffs in November.

     For more information about the Youth Grant program, go to

     Jones County Teen Council leaders and members are listed below.

     Leaders: Jenna Vsetecka, Heather Hansen and Connie Burhop.

     Members: Breanna Adams, Emma Bock, Katravia Burns, Thomas Dirks, Madalyn Heims, Sydney Heims, Adele Hogan, Caleb Hogan, Bo Kramer, Hunter Kramer, Ivan Lambertsen, Koree Miller, Elizabeth Riniker, Cassie Kay Ross, Rachel Ross, Lillian Strait, Morgan Strait, Lauren Sylvester and Austin Timm.



Subscriber Login