Linn County is part of disaster area designation

     Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated Iowa County, Iowa, as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses due to excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, hail, high winds, and a tornado that occurred between March 1 and June 15, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

     Producers in the contiguous Iowa counties of Linn, Benton, Johnson, Keokuk, Poweshiek, Tama, and Washington are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

     This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

     The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 18, 2020.

     FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

     Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at



Subscriber Login