Panthers celebrate winning season

Pete Temple
Express Sports Editor

     A season in which the Monticello High School football team finished with winning records both in district play and overall, was celebrated at the team’s annual awards meeting Nov. 5.

     The Panther coaches from both the varsity and junior varsity teams presented awards during the event, which was held in the MHS Auditorium.

     Monticello varsity coach Wes Wilson praised the team, saying it did “an unbelievable job, and kept fighting.”

     A season highlight was the win at Dyersville Beckman, which had not happened since the mid-1990s, and “got us rolling,” the coach said.

     “We have a lot of good things going on,” Wilson said. “I’m excited about where the program is and where it’s going.”

     The coach also noted team records that were set. Junior quarterback Jeff Carlson set the  including passing yardage (2,092), completions (161), and touchdown passes (17). Wade Picray also tied the team’s single-game sack record, with three in the Anamosa game.

     The Panthers finished 5-4, including 3-2 in Class 2A, District 4.

     The football program also celebrated the junior varsity season, in which the Panthers posted a 5-2 mark.

     “I was pleasantly surprised with how we came along,” co-coach Greg Williams said.

     Co-coach Donnie Kremer added: “We accomplished a lot of our goals. We were in every game.”

     The list of awards presented at the banquet follows.



     District Punter of the Year: Tony Wallerich, senior.

     First Team: Gavin Cooper, senior wide receiver; Wade Picray, senior defensive lineman; Lake Stahlberg, senior linebacker; Tony Wallerich, senior punter; Brady Cleeton, sophomore offensive lineman; Jeff Carlson, junior quarterback; Tyler Luensman, sophomore wide receiver.

     Second Team: Chase Luensman, senior linebacker; Devin Kraus, junior wide receiver; Mason Reuter, junior defensive lineman; Justin Recker, sophomore wide receiver.

     Honorable Mention: Jon Mootz, senior offensive lineman; Cade Folken, junior defensive back.


     Offensive MVP: Lake Stahlberg, senior.

     Defensive MVP: Lake Stahlberg, senior.

     Special Teams MVP: Tony Wallerich, senior.    

     Most Improved: Jeff Carlson, junior.

     Coaches; Award: Gavin Cooper, senior; Chase Luensman, senior; Jon Mootz, senior.


First team

     Seniors: Brody Brokaw, Gavin Cooper, Hunter Kramer, Chase Luensman, Jon Mootz,

     Juniors: Jeff Carlson, Cade Folken, Devin Kraus, Ben Oswald, Luke Weber,

     Sophomores: Brady Cleeton, Kain Luensman, Tyler Luensman, Justin Recker.             

Second team

     Senior: Lake Stahlberg.

     Juniors: Reid Barnhart, Mason Reuter.



Subscriber Login