Panthers enjoy laurels from another state-qualifying season

The Monticello High School cross country team held its annual awards event Nov. 13. Paige Holub was honored for being a four-time All-State runner for the Panthers. (Photos by Pete Temple)

Most Improved Awards went to Anna Loes (left) and Cole Cruise.

Dru Kramer received a Rookie of the Year Award.

Boys’ all-conference runners were Cole Cruise (left) and Aaron Loes.

Girls’ all-conference runners, from left: Lauren Lambert, Jordyn Patterson, Emily Schlarmann, Paige Holub, Taylor McDonald and Gabrielle Steiner.

All-District runners, first row from left: Cole Cruise and Aaron Loes. Second row: Paige Holub, Taylor McDonald, Jordyn Patterson, Emily Schlarmann and Gabrielle Steiner.

Ryan Oswald earned an Academic All-State Award.

Jasper Nietert received a Rookie of the Year Award.

Jordyn Patterson gives a senior address to the audience.

Panther head coach Dan Sauser enjoys the awards event. Sauser received the Golden Plaque of Distinction Award at this year’s state meet.
Pete Temple
Express Sports Editor

     It’s hard to imagine a State Cross Country Meet that doesn’t include Monticello teams running in the Class 2A races.

     The 2017 season was another one in which the Panther teams got to make the trip to Fort Dodge. The girls finished second at the Class 2A state meet, giving them a top-two finish at State for the fourth straight year; and the boys extended the state’s longest active streak of qualifying for State to 21 years.

     As a result there were plenty of awards to go around when the Panthers held their annual awards event Monday, Nov. 13 in the Monticello High School Commons.

     Included were all-district, and all-conference awards, along with an all-state award for senior Paige Holub, and recognition of head coach Dan Sauser’s Golden Plaque of Distinction.

     A list of award-winners follows.



     Most Improved: Anna Loes, senior; Cole Cruise, sophomore.

     Rookie of the Year: Dru Kramer, freshman; Jasper Nietert, freshman.

     Pride Award: Rachel Larabee, senior; Ben Barnhart, senior.


     Paige Holub, senior.


     Girls: Paige Holub, senior; Taylor McDonald, senior; Jordyn Patterson, senior; Emily Schlarmann, sophomore; Gabrielle Steiner, sophomore.

     Boys: Cole Cruise, sophomore; Aaron Loes, senior.



     Elite Girls: Paige Holub, senior; Taylor McDonald, senior; Gabrielle Steiner, sophomore.

     First Team Girls: Jordyn Patterson, senior; Emily Schlarmann, sophomore.

     First Team Boys: Aaron Loes, senior.

     Honorable Mention Girls: Lauren Lambert, sophomore.

     Honorable Mention Boys: Cole Cruise, sophomore.


     Ryan Oswald, senior.



Subscriber Login