Recker's win highlights State FFA Conference for Monti

Karli Recker of the Monticello FFA Chapter placed first overall in the state in Ag Radio Broadcasting at the Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference April 15-16 at Hilton Coliseum, Iowa State University, Ames. (Photos submitted)

Monticello FFA Chapter participants in the State Leadership Conference include, first row from left: Adele Hogan, Karli Recker and DeLainy Fellinger. Second row: Emalee Manternach, Rachel Nelson and Marissa Recker. Third row: Joseph Schrader, Adam Schmitt and Jordan Lorenzen. Fourth row: Owen Thomas, Ty Jesenovec and Chloe Gray. Fifth row: Ian Lorenzen, Jayden Orcutt and Jasper Nietert. Fourth row: advisor Eric Schmitt, Michael Blunt and Caleb Hogan.

Dane Thomas was honored during the conference for earning his Iowa Degree.

The fourth place Ag Communications team, from left: Marissa Recker, Jordan Lorenzen, Karli Recker and Chloe Gray.

     The 91st Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference was held April 15-16 at Hilton Coliseum on the Iowa State University campus, where 17 Monticello FFA Chapter members participated in career development events (CDE), FFA Choir, Massing of the Flags and served as voting delegates.

     Karli Recker took part in the Ag Radio Broadcasting CDE, placing first overall in the state. As part of this event, Recker edited news script, prepared and delivered a five-minute on-air news broadcast including weather, markets and a 30-second commercial.

     The Ag Communications team consisting of Marissa Recker, Chloe Gray, Jordan Lorenzen and Karli Recker finished in fourth place as a team, receiving a Gold rating; while the Farm Business Management team consisting of Michael Blunt, Rachel Nelson, and Adam Schmitt also received a Gold rating and 13th place overall. Michael Blunt placed 13th individually.

     Jasper Nietert, Ian Lorenzen, Jayden Orcutt and Emalee Manternach received a Silver rating in the Ag Biotechnology CDE.

     The Greenhand Quiz was taken by Owen Thomas and Ty Jesenovec. Thomas received a silver rating and Jesenovec received bronze.

Dane Thomas received his State FFA Degree. To receive this award a member in FFA must earn/invest $1500 or work 300 unpaid hours and also must have participated in five above the chapter level activities.

     Caleb Hogan and DeLainy Fellinger served as voting delegates to vote for new members of the Iowa State FFA Officer Team.

     When members were not participating in events they attended the career fair and spoke with colleges or businesses and attended the general sessions.

     Owen Thomas stated: “My favorite part of state conference was meeting new people from all over the state of Iowa. The opportunity to attend allowed me to see all of the things that I could get involved with through FFA.”

 – Adam Schmitt,

Chapter Historian




Subscriber Login