State trophy-winning season is celebrated

The Monticello High School cross country team held its annual awards event Nov. 11 in the MHS Commons. All-State Panther runners, from left: Emma Althoff, Harrison Ahlrichs and Cole Cruise. Althoff and Ahlrichs were also voted Rookies of the Year by the team. (Photos by Pete Temple)

Panther All-District boys, from left: Harrison Ahlrichs, Zach Chapman, Cole Cruise, Carter Kurt and Jasper Nietert.

Panther All-District girls, from left: Emily Hendricks, Triniti Etzel, Emma Althoff, Karle Kramer and Lydia Recker.

Panthers voted Most Improved, from left: Emily Hendricks, Jacob Miller and Mya Postel.

Earning the Pride Award were Lizzie Petersen (left) and Levi Temple.

     The Monticello boys and girls cross country teams had a lot of similarities during the 2019 season.

     The two biggest ones: both teams finished third at the Class 2A state meet, and both were champions at the state qualifying meet under head coach Dan Sauser.

     The relative youth of the teams, with only one senior on the boys’ state meet team, and a girls’ state team that consisted solely of sophomores and freshmen, was another similarity.

     For the boys, it was the 23rd consecutive season of qualifying for State. Sauser also noted that the team as a whole had a grade-point average of 3.63.

     Both teams were honored during the team’s annual awards event Monday, Nov. 11 in the MHS Commons.

     A list of the awards that were presented follows.



     Boys: Cole Cruise, senior; Harrison Ahlrichs, freshman.

     Girls: Emma Althoff, freshman.


     Boys: Cole Cruise, senior; Zach Chapman, junior; Jasper Nietert, junior; Carter Kurt, sophomore; Harrison Ahlrichs, freshman.


     Elite boys: Jasper Nietert, junior.

     All-Conference boys: Cole Cruise, senior; Zach Chapman, junior; Carter Kurt, sophomore;  Harrison Ahlrichs, freshman.

     Elite girls: Emma Althoff, freshman.

     All-Conference girls: Emily Hendricks, freshman.

     Honorable Mention girls: Karle Kramer, sophomore; Lydia Recker, sophomore.


     Most Improved (boys): Jacob Miller, freshman.

     Most Improved (girls): Emily Hendricks, freshman; Mya Postel, freshman.

     Rookie of the Year (boys): Harrison Ahlrichs, freshman.

     Rookie of the Year (girls): Emma Althoff, freshman.

     Pride Award (boys): Levi Temple, junior.

     Pride Award (girls): Lizzie Petersen, senior.


     Senior boys: Cole Cruise.

     Junior boys: Gavin Baugh, Zach Chapman, Levi Temple

     Sophomore boys: Erlin Bell, Grant Hospodarsky, Trey Kuper, Carter Kurt, Nathan Oswald.

     Senior girl: Lizzie Petersen.

     Junior girls: Hannah Ahlrichs, Kehde Campbell, Gabrielle Guilford, Dru Kramer, Karli Recker, Maddie Stadtmueller.

     Sophomore girls: Faith Hansen, Karle Kramer, Lydia Recker.


     Boys: Cole Cruise.

     Girls: Lizzie Petersen.



Subscriber Login