Supervisors make annual appointments in new year

Board of Supervisors
Kim Brooks
Express Editor

     The Jones County Board of Supervisors met on Jan. 4, their first meeting of 2021 with new board members Jeff Swisher and John Schlarmann.

     The board approved several items going into a new year and second half of the fiscal year.

     Supervisor Joe Oswald was appointed board chairman, with Supervisor Jon Zirkelbach appointed vice chair.

     The Monticello Express and Anamosa Journal-Eureka were named the official newspapers of Jones County for legal publications.

     Dr. Michael Weston was appointed medical examiner. Kevin Weber and Victoria Weston were both appointed medical examiner investigators; Brandon Kent, medical examiner investigator in-training.

     The board reaffirmed Economic Development Director Derek Lumsden and Anamosa Mayor Rod Smith to three-year terms on the ECICOG Board of Directors. They also appointed Doug Wortman to the ECICOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee for a one-year term.

     Wes Gibbs was reappointed Weed Commissioner.

     Joyce Fishwild and James Krapfl were both reappointed to the Jones County Historic Preservation Commission for terms expiring Dec. 31, 2023. Rose Rohr was also reappointed, with Zirkelbach opposed.

     Supervisor Ned Rohwedder said there have been issues in the past with Rohr, chair of the commission, submitting her annual report to the state historical society in a timely manner.

     Schlarmann said he knows it can be hard to find volunteers to serve on a board such as this.

     “It’s a thankless job,” he said, “no matter what.”

     Zirkelbach suggested the supervisors recommend to the commission to appoint a new chair.

     “We can sit down with them and express our concerns,” said Swisher.

     Three members were appointed to the Pioneer Cemetery Commission for three-year terms: LaVerta Langenberg, Russ Dunn, and Leah Nebergall. Byron Freese and Wendy Dunn were appointed to two-year terms to fill vacancies.

     Lyle Thiesen and Denny Coon were appointed to three-year terms on the Board of Health.

     The supervisors were each appointed to the following committees:

Joe Oswald

     • Advancement Services of Jones County

     • DHS Service Area Advisory Committee

     • Maquoketa River Watershed Authority

     • Sixth Judicial District

     • Workforce Development

     • EIRUSS (Eastern Iowa Regional Utility Service System)

Ned Rohwedder

     • Emergency Medical Services Association

     • Mental Health Advisory Board

     • Solid Waste Commission

     • Tourism Association

     • Abbe Mental Health Center

     • FEMA

     • Mental Health/Disability Services of the East Central Region

     • Senior Dining

Jon Zirkelbach

     • Fair Board

     • Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management Committee

     • Wapsipinicon Trail Committee

     • ASAC

     • ECICOG

     • East Central Iowa Housing Fund

     • Region 10 Transportation Policy Committee

     • Economic Development

John Schlarmann

     • Board of Health

     • Decat/CPPC

     • GIS Committee

     • HACAP

Jeff Swisher

     • 911 Service Board

     • Emergency Management Agency

     • Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management Committee

     • REAP

     • Jones County Safe & Healthy Youth Coalition

     • Solid Waste Commission

     • Courthouse and Public Building Security Committee

     • Safety Committee


Subscriber Login