Three MHS groups make All-State

     Getting eight Division I ratings at the State Large Group Speech Contest Saturday, Feb. 4 at Cedar Rapids Washington High School was one thing.

     Later Monday afternoon, the Monticello speech competitors learned that three of their groups were nominated for All-State.

     This time, the qualifying groups – all of which also received “I” ratings, are:

     • Group Improv, Jeff Carlson and Payton Jaeger.

     • Ensemble Acting, “Driver’s Test,” Elle Boeding and Kate Isaac.

     • Short Film, “WINK,” Makayla Coffey, Cassie Gillmore, Rachel Larabee, Andrew Monck, Natalie Newhard and Jordyn Patterson.

     The Group Improv duo will get the opportunity to perform at the All-State Large Group Speech Festival Saturday, Feb. 18 at Iowa State University. The other two groups were also nominated, but won’t get the chance to perform due to time limitations.

     It was the first time Monticello had a group selected for All-State since 2012, when two groups made it.

     Also receiving “I” ratings at the state contest:

     Ensemble Acting, “Pamper Island,” Rileigh Lambert, Anna Loes and Taylor McDonald.

     Ensemble Acting, “So Long, Kitty,” Hannah Gray, Jordyn Patterson and Cleo Sullivan.

     Group Improv: Wes Henderson, Tyler Hospodarsky and Andy Tjaden.

     TV News: “MOMZ TV,” Sophie Ahlrichs, Keeley Anderson, Abbey Beem, Autry Fasnacht, Clara Finger, Corinne Gadient, Sophie Gray, Marissa McNally, Kenna Melchert, Kenna Patterson and Eden Smith.

     Radio Broadcasting: “WeR80s,” Rileigh Lambert, Anna Loes and Taylor McDonald.

     Receiving “II” ratings at the state contest:

     Freshman Readers Theatre, “Boys Next Door,” Jeff Carlson, Payton Jaeger, Ben Oswald and Chase Sternhagen.

     Choral Reading, “We Are the Change,” Sophie Ahlrichs, Abbey Beem, Elle Boeding, Clara Finger, Chloe Gray, Sophie Gray, Ashley Jenkins, Marissa McNally, Kenna Melchert, Natalie Newhard, Skyler Postel, Nicole Stark, Presley Tapken and Kiley Wall.

     Radio Broadcasting, “SLZ – Sizzlin Hot,” Rachel Nelson and Rylee Bauer.

     Short Film, “The Contract,” Matthew Fokken, Dalton Hampson and Alan Janssen.


Subscriber Login