Monticello finishes third, three inducted during WEIGA tourney

Posted August 7, 2013 at 1:12 pm

weiga 1-color.tif

The Monticello team took third place in the WEIGA tournament Sunday in Monticello. Team members, first row from left: Theresa Westhoff, Aspen Lynch, Heidi Chronowski, Darby Kramer and Carol McDonald. Second row: Linda Sauser, Tammy Sutterman, Brenda Bohlken, Julie Frost, Donna Fah and Joyce Kramer. (Photos by Pete Temple)

weiga 2-color.tif

Inducted into the WEIGA Hall of Fame from Monticello were (from left) Carol McDonald, Mary Jane Clarke and Shirley Brockhohn.


By Pete Temple, Express Sports Editor

Three Monticello women’s golfers were inducted into the Women’s Eastern Iowa Golf Association Hall of Fame, two Monticello golfers were awarded scholarships, and the Monticello team pulled down a respectable third place finish while hosting the WEIGA Tournament Sunday, Aug. 4 at the Monticello Golf Club.

Fawn Creek of Anamosa was the champion in the eight-team field, with a team score of 596 (total of the top seven). Solon, which had the top two individual finishers, was second with 614, and Monticello was third with 640, five strokes ahead of Tipton.

Jessica Tomash of Solon was the overall medalist, shooting a 39-37-76, and beating teammate Lora Winters by four strokes.

There was a four-way tie for third, with Monticello’s Aspen Lynch, Kim Kieckhaever and Lynette Seaton of Fawn Creek, and Kelsey Dircks of Solon all shooting 81. Heidi Chronowski of Monticello was seventh overall with an 82.

Rounding out the team scores were Tipton, fourth with 645; Wapsi, fifth with 650; West Liberty, sixth with 680; Wahkonsa (Durant), seventh with 681; and Kernousti (Mount Vernon), eighth with 713.

Monticello’s remaining individual scores included Julie Frost with 94, Joyce Kramer and Linda Sauser with 96 apiece; Darby Kramer, Brenda Bohlken and Donna Fah with 99 each; and Tammy Sutterman with 102.

Inducted into the WEIGA Hall of Fame from Monticello were Mary Jane Clarke, Shirley Brockhohn and Carol McDonald.

Receiving WEIGA scholarships were Tasia Welter of Monticello and Aspen Lynch.

It was the ninth team title for Fawn Creek in the history of the WEIGA, which began in 1950. The all-time team leader is Tipton, with 22 championships. Maquoketa, which is no longer in the WEIGA, also had nine. Monticello has won the title six times, the most recent in 1998.

weiga 5-color.tif

Tasia Welter (left) and Aspen Lynch received WEIGA scholarships. Lynch was also recognized as Monticello team medalist for shooting an 81 to tie for third place overall.