Jones Co. Farm Bureau celebrates 100 years

Darrick Hall, president of Jones County Farm Bureau, accepts a plaque commemorating the 100 years of service for the county’s Farm Bureau. From left are Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Vice President Joe Heinrich, Hall, and Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill. (Photos submitted)

     During the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation’s (IFBF) 98th annual meeting in Des Moines, the Jones County Farm Bureau office was recognized for 100 years of service.

     The first county Farm Bureau was organized in Clinton County in 1912 by farmers who wanted to expand the resources available for area farmers. That year, Scott County, Black Hawk County and Muscatine County also formed local Farm Bureau groups.

     This attention to bringing resources to rural America began in 1908 when President Theodore Roosevelt appointed a Country Life Commission. This commission established county agents to help educate farm families on crop and livestock production, as well as the principles of healthy home living. The Extension Service and County Farm Improvement Associations helped bring this information to Iowa farmers, but many people felt that farmers needed more and this led to the creation of the county Farm Bureau system in Iowa.

     This is the fifth year for the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation to celebrate this award. Each year until 2029, IFBF will award a medallion to county Farm Bureaus as they reach the century mark.


Subscriber Login