JRMC board members receive IHA award

Jay Willems

Vic Hamre

UnityPoint Health – Jones Regional Medical Center (JRMC) board members Vic Hamre and Jay Willems were awarded the Iowa Hospital Association (IHA) Excellence in Governance Award on Oct. 10 at the IHA annual meeting. This is the first time IHA has presented the award to two individuals. 

According to IHA, the award is presented to a hospital trustee who most exemplifies the traits of strategic vision, diplomacy and leadership embodied by Ernie Hayes, who provided more than 40 years of service to Iowa hospitals. 

Nominees must be a member of an Iowa board, be involved in the IHA Hospital Board Certification Program, be a leader, and influence perceptions and actions of external publics. The nomination process includes a form, a letter of nomination, and up to five letters of support. 

Here are excerpts from the letters of support: 

“The bottom line is the tremendous difference they have made in the healthcare available to the citizens of Jones County and Eastern Iowa. Without Jay and Vic, there is no hospital, no emergency service, and no doctor in Jones County. As a result of their vision and efforts, there is a very vibrant, leading, growing hospital easily accessible to all and a full staff of healthcare providers,” writes Dr. Charles Vernon, JRMC-Anamosa Clinic. 

“I’m not sure which one of this dynamic duo is Batman or Robin, but they’re both superheroes in my book as their efforts over the past 25 years have shaped healthcare within Jones County, Cedar Rapids, and across the State of Iowa,” writes JRMC CEO Eric Briesemeister. 


Subscriber Login