Manternach wins club title in playoff

Chance Manternach (far left) won the Men’s Monticello Golf Club Tournament Aug. 18-19. From left are Chance Manternach, champion; Evan Felton, runner-up; Brian McDonald, third place; and Dustin Hall, fourth place. (Photos by Pete Temple)

President’s Flight winners, from left: Diz Edwards, Jacob Bergman and Steve McDonald. Not pictured is Chad Norton.

First Flight winners, from left; Tom Fah, Bill Kramer and Pat Recker. Not pictured is James Smith.

Second Flight winners, from left; Charlie Tonn, Kenny Bohlken and Dave Jacobs. Not pictured is Kegan Arduser.

Third Flight winners, from left: Aaron Shoop, Bill Beringer, Ty Kehoe and Doug Hansen.

Fourth Flight winners, from left: Bo Kramer and Karson Kromminga. Not pictured are Steve Edwards and Justin Mardorf.

     Chance Manternach birdied the second playoff hole, earning the championship in the Men’s Club Tournament Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 18-19 at the Monticello Golf Club.

     Manternach finished the two-day tournament in a three-way tie with Evan Felton and Brian McDonald, each with a total of 144. After one playoff hole, it was down to Manternach and Felton.

     Manternach’s tee shot on the second hole landed just left of the green, and he chipped to within three feet of the hole.

     “I just wanted something close so I could have an attempt at a birdie,” Manternach said.

     Felton narrowly missed a chip shot for birdie that would have sent the tournament to a third playoff hole.

     Manternach said his game included “a lot of up and down. (Saturday) I think it took me 12 holes to get my first par, and (Sunday) it took me 14 holes. A lot of birdies and bogeys. But overall it was pretty good.”

     It was the second club championship for Manternach, who also won in 2014.


Aug. 18-19

Men’s Club Tournament

(at Monticello Golf Club)

     Championship Flight: 1, Chance Manternach 69-75–144; 2, Evan Felton 73-71–144; 3, Brian McDonald 71-73–144; 4, Dustin Hall 69-76–145.

     President’s Flight: 1, Diz Edwards 74 (won in playoff); 2, Jacob Bergman 74; 3, Chad Norton 76; 4, Steve McDonald 77.

     First Flight: 1, Tom Fah 75; 2, Bill Kramer 80; 3, James Smith 80; 4, Pat Recker 81.

     Second Flight: 1, Charlie Tonn 85; 2, Kegan Arduser 85; 3, Kenny Bohlken 86; 16, Dave Jacobs 86.

     Third Flight: 1, Aaron Shoop 87; 2, Bill Beringer 88; 3, Ty Kehoe 88; 4, Doug Hansen 88.

     Fourth Flight: 1, Steve Edwards 92; 2, Justin Mardorf 93; 3, Karson Kromminga 94, 4, Bo Kramer 94.



Subscriber Login