Monticello is third in EIGA; McDonald is individual champ

Brian McDonald of Monticello was the individual champion at the Men’s Eastern Iowa Golf Association Tournament Aug. 11-12. (Photo courtesy of Daryl Schepanski, Anamosa Journal-Eureka)

Nash Sutterman was Monticello’s scholarship winner from the Men’s EIGA Tournament. (Express file photo)

     Monticello rallied from fifth place after one day, and moved up to finish third in the 91st annual Men’s Eastern Iowa Golf Association Tournament Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 11-12 at the Wapsipinicon Country Club in Anamosa.

     Monticello’s Brian McDonald was the individual champion shooting an 8-under-par two-day total of 124. McDonald trailed defending champion Sterling McIlravy from Solon with nine holes to play, but started his last nine with a hole in one – the first of his career – and went 9-under for the final nine holes.

     The Monticello team shot 1397, finishing behind host Wapsi (1349) and Solon (1357). Mount Vernon was fourth with 1401. Solon was the two-time defending champion coming into the tournament. As a team, Monticello shot 21 strokes better on Sunday than it did on Saturday.

     Nash Sutterman was Monticello’s $800 scholarship winner. He is the son of Steve and Tammy Sutterman. Nash, a 2018 graduate of Monticello High School, plans to attend Kirkwood Community College in the fall to obtain his associate’s degree, and then transfer to the University of Iowa for computer science.

     Team scores and Monticello individual scores follow.


Aug. 11-12

Men’s Eastern Iowa

Golf Tournament

(at Wapsipinicon)


     1, Wapsipinicon 1349; 2, Solon 1357; 3, Monticello 1397; 4, Mount Vernon 1401; 5, Dyersville 1412; 6, Bellevue 1455; 7, West Liberty 1480; 8, Tipton 1488; 9, Wahkonsa (Durant) 1491.


     Brian McDonald 124 (individual champion), Dustin Hall 134, Kevin Goedken 138, Chance Manternach 139, Mike Wennekamp 141, Chad Norton 144, Phil McDonald 145, Evan Felton 145, Aaron Prull 148, Andy Manternach 149, Matt Lee 151, Lonnie Chapman 160.



Subscriber Login