Monticello's FFA year includes team, individual honors

Monticello FFA members who received their Chapter Degrees in November, first row from left: Mikey Russell, Adele Hogan and Bo Kramer. Second row: Brooklyn Stark, Kacie Rickels, Lucas Price, Jayden Orcutt and Emalee Manternach. Third row: Lydia Recker, DeLainy Fellinger, Hannah Ahlrichs, Joselyn Brady, Kaden Kiburz, Jasper Nietert and Ian Lorenzen. Not pictured are Lindsey Adams, Dylan Bowser, Kain Luensman, Tyler McAtee and Ethan Tallman. (Express file photo)


   The Monticello FFA participated in a variety of different activities throughout the 2017-2018 calendar year, receiving numerous top-10 finishes and gold ratings in state events while also participating and performing local service activities.

     Members that participated at sub-district career development events held at East Buchanan Feb. 21 were Caleb Hogan competing in Ag Sales receiving silver, Adele Hogan in creed speaking receiving silver, Austin Martin receiving silver in prepared public speaking, and Marissa Recker receiving gold and advancing to Districts in radio broadcasting. At District contests in Waukon, Marissa received another gold and advanced to state. She was also on the ballot for District Office.

     At State FFA Convention the Ag Biotech team consisting of Jordan Lorenzen, second place individual; Marissa Recker, third; Breanna Adams, seventh; and Adam Schmitt, ninth; finished as the second place overall team. Marissa Recker received a silver for her Ag Radio broadcasting. Our chapter activity exhibit prepared by Brooklyn Stark, Adele Hogan, Delainy Fellinger, Karli Recker and Cayce Gudenkauf received a silver rating; while the farm business management team of Wesley Henderson, Kirklen Kiburz, Jacob Manternach, and Gavin Cooper received gold and 16th place.

     Members who received their Iowa FFA Degrees were Gavin Cooper, Caleb Hogan, Tyler Kuper, Jordan Lorenzen, Austin Martin, Wade Picray, Marissa Recker, Austin Timm, and John Welter. Taylor Cruise received her American FFA Degree in October at the National FFA Convention.

     The Iowa State Fair was also memorable for Chelsea Johnson, who received champion market beef window A and Parker Kray who received overall champion restored tractor for the second time and champion 1959 and later tractor.

     At district CDEs we had three teams participate. Our Ag Mechanics team brought home 6th place thanks to Bo Kremer, Luke Price, Kaden Kiburz, and Mikey Russell. The Nursery Landscape team received first place with Marissa Recker receiving first individually, Rachel Nelson third, along with Adele Hogan. Our Floriculture team of Marissa Recker third individually, Jordan Lorenzen who received fifth along with Delainy Fellinger and Karli Recker receiving second overall.

     In June, the Horse Judging team received fourth place overall with Rachel Nelson Jaelynn Kraus, Brooklyn Stark and Gabrielle Steiner. Steiner was sixth individually. The Food Science team received second place overall with Marissa Recker, fourth individually, Jordan Lorenzen, seventh individually, along with Rachel Nelson, and Josie Brady. Ag Mechanics was Jacob Lorenzen, Ian Lorenzen and Kesston Wernimont.

     On Oct. 13, our chapter held our second annual Feed the Farmers event where we delivered 105 meals to farmers working in the field; while in December the chapter prepared 20 fruit baskets to donate to the food pantry.



Subscriber Login